Houston County Bar Association Announces 2020 Scholarship Winners!!

Warner Robins— April 20, 2020The Houston County Bar Association announced the winners of their annual scholarship, awarding six Houston County high school seniors $500.00 toward their college expenses. The winners this year are:

Jamye N. Thigpen – Warner Robins High School


Colbert “Tre” Flagg, III – Northside High School


Dorothy “Paige” Paschal – Perry High School


Jasmine S. Briola – Perry High School


Bethany C. Brewton – Houston County High School


Mahi B. Patel – The Westfield School


“We are elated to be able to give future generations the opportunity to go forward with their dreams and aspirations. As a group of lawyers, we want to be able to empower our community and celebrate bright young minds,” said LaToya Bell, President of The Houston County Bar Association.

This scholarship is usually presented at the annual Law Day celebration in May, however, because of the Covid-19 pandemic, this year’s celebration was canceled. The Houston County Bar Association will present the checks to these students by mail.

This year’s theme “Your Voice, Your Vote, Our Democracy” was geared toward having students think about equality and what they can do now and in the future to ensure that equality and fairness are at the forefront of the minds of current and future generations.

The Houston County Bar Association wishes to thank the committee of local attorneys that judged this year’s scholarship applications, including LaToya Bell, Kindall Browning, Lisa Compagno, Jocelyn Daniell, Eric Edwards, Philip Potter, Amy Smith, and Russell Walker.

Philip Potter, Secretary/Treasurer of the Houston County Bar Association said, “We are blessed to have a great group of dedicated and caring attorneys in Houston County. Each year our scholarship program is made possible by donations of both money and time from our members, and without their support the scholarship program would not be possible.” The local judges and lawyers that donated to the scholarship program this year include:

  • The Honorable Katherine Lumsden
  • The Honorable Bo Adams
  • Jay Walker
  • J. Walker
  • Walker & Walker, LLP
  • In Memory of Roy Cowart (by Varner & Peacock)
  • Houston County Young Lawyers Division
  • Walker, Hulbert, Gray & Moore, LLP
  • Gail Robinson
  • Crawley Kemp
  • Amy Smith
  • In Memory of Roy Cowart (by Moody & Associates)
  • Rockefeller Law Center
  • John Camp
  • David Daniell
  • Jocelyn Daniell
  • Claire C. Chapman
  • Burke Lasseter, LLC
  • Philip Potter